If you’ve been convicted of a DUI (drunk driving offense) in Arizona, your license may be suspended or revoked. There will be a process you have to go through before you can regain your driving privileges. The process may seem confusing but below, we will break down the steps you may need to complete:
- Alcohol evaluation
- Alcohol treatment
- SR-22 insurance
- Vehicle impoundment
- Ignition interlock device
Once you complete all these steps, you can bring your Ignition Interlock Certificate of Installation to the California DMV to receive your restricted license.
You may need to verify eligibility, pay a reinstatement fee and any additional fines before you get your restricted license.
Ignition interlock devices in California
If you live in Tulare, Los Angeles, Sacramento or Alameda County, ignition interlock devices are required for all drunk driving (DUI) convictions, even a first offense. If you are outside those four counties, ignition interlocks can be required by the judge at their discretion.
California ignition interlock devices cost between $70 and $100 a month. Find a California ignition interlock device (Car Breathalyzer) installation location and schedule an installation to get back on the road.
More California DUI process resources
Approved State Vendor List
Treatment Centers and Programs
Download and Complete California IID Application Form