OWI Process in Iowa – What to do after a drunk driving conviction

If you’ve been convicted of an OWI (drunk driving offense) in Iowa, your license may be suspended or revoked. Before you are able to legally drive again, you may need to complete/obtain the following steps:

  1. Substance Abuse Evaluation
  2. DUI/OWI Weekend Program (Second Chance)
  3. SR-22 Insurance
  4. Ignition Interlock Device
  5. Temporary Restricted License (TRL)

Once you complete all these steps, you will need to complete a DOT Application for Temporary Restricted License. You’ll need to pay all fines and fees and show proof of your ignition interlock installation and SR-22 insurance before you are able to obtain your Temporary Restricted License.

Ignition interlock devices in Iowa

Ignition interlock devices are required for all repeat drunk driving offenders in Iowa and for first-time offenders with a BrAC (Breath Alcohol Concentration) of .10 or greater.

Iowa ignition interlock devices cost between $65 and $90 a month. Find an Iowa ignition interlock device (Car Breathalyzer) installation location and schedule your installation at a state certified location near your home or work.


More Iowa OWI process resources

Approved State Vendor List

Second Chance Weekend Program

Download and Complete Iowa IID Application Form



Get ignition interlock pricing in your state