Texas Ignition Interlock Laws
If the Department of Public Safety (DPS) has received a court order that restricts an individual’s ability to operate a motor vehicle, unless they have a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device, the restricted individual will have 30 days from the date they receive an official notice from the DPS to obtain a restricted interlock license before the cancellation of their driving privilege.
If an individual wishes to obtain a restricted interlock license, they must pay a set amount of required fees to the Texas DPS. The required fees include the following; the restricted interlock license fee and reinstatement fees.
Paying your fees
1. You must pay your restricted interlock license fee by mail to the following address:
Texas Department of Public Safety
PO BOX 15999
Austin, Texas 78761
2. To pay your reinstatement fee, click here and login using your Driver license information.
DWI Requirements in Texas
Depending upon the circumstances of your arrest, such as how many previous DWIs you may have, when and where you were arrested or your BAC, you could face any of the following requirements, or any combination thereof, before you can regain your driver's license:
- Attend an Alcohol Education Program
- Spend time in jail
- Serve probation
- Perform community service
- Obtain SR22 insurance
- Have your license suspended
- Obtain a restricted driver’s license authorizing you to operate a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device
- Install an Intoxalock ignition interlock (car breathalyzer, BAIID, IID or interlock system)
- Pay a restricted ignition interlock license fee of $10
These requirements could be ordered by a court, by the TxDOT, TxDPS or other monitoring authority and could be conditions of you bond, pre-trial, probation, divert or special program, electronic monitoring or other requirements based on your case.
Installing your IID
Once you have paid your fess and received a court-order to install an ignition interlock device for your restricted interlock license, the installation must be performed by a DPS-certified service center. For a comprehensive list of DPS-certified service centers, click on the following link: Texas DPS-Certified IID Service Centers
If you are required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in Texas, you can download and complete the Texas IID Program Application Form below to begin the State of Texas ignition interlock installation process.
Download and Complete Texas IID Application Form
If you are considering not obtaining an ignition interlock device and illegally driving while your license is suspended, we strongly urge you to download our Driving While Suspended State Guide. Driving with a suspended or revoked license in Texas could lead to large fines and possible imprisonment.